Saxtet Publications
catalogue > sax quartets > jesu, joy of man's desiring

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

saxophone quartet edition

Composed by: JS Bach
Arranged by: Nigel Wood
Genre: Baroque
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(16 pages)

Buy now
Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring


Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring is the most common English title of the 10th and last movement of the cantata Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147 ("Heart and Mouth and Deed and Life"), composed by Johann Sebastian Bach in 1716 and 1723.

It is often performed slowly and reverently at wedding ceremonies, as well as during Christian festive seasons like Christmas and Easter, despite the affect suggested by Bach in his original scoring, for voices with trumpet, oboes, strings, and continuo.

Edition Notes

This arrangement was created in the 1990’s for the quartet ’Saxtet’ and the piece soon became a staple part of the group’s busking catalogue.


s/a a t b


4 min

Performance Notes

This arrangement is ideally suited for SATB line-up, but can be played by an AATB quartet using the supplied alternative Alto part.

Other Editions

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US