Saxtet Publications
catalogue > clarinet ensembles > jesu, joy of man's desiring

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

clarinet choir edition

Composed by: JS Bach
Arranged by: Nigel Wood
Genre: Baroque
Ordering Options
PDF bundles
Complete - Score & Parts
(25 pages)

Buy now
Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring


Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring is the most common English title of the 10th and last movement of the cantata Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147 ("Heart and Mouth and Deed and Life"), composed by Johann Sebastian Bach in 1716 and 1723.

It is often performed slowly and reverently at wedding ceremonies, as well as during Christian festive seasons like Christmas and Easter, despite the affect suggested by Bach in his original scoring, for voices with trumpet, oboes, strings, and continuo.

Edition Notes

This edition is scored for the following instrumentation:
Eb Clarinet (optional)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Clarinet 4
Bb Clarinet 5
Bb Clarinet 6
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet (optional)


Eb Bbx6 Alto Bs (Cb)


4 min

Other Editions

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
In stock
View in UK EU US