Saxtet Publications
catalogue > clarinet quartets > romanian dances

Romanian Dances

clarinet quartet edition

Composed by: Bela Bartok
Arranged by: Nigel Wood
Genres: Classical, Contemporary, World/Ethnic
Ordering Options
Romanian Dances


Based on seven folk melodies, these were originally written by Bartok for the piano, but later adapted for small orchestra by the composer.

The pieces consists of six movements, and are all based on melodies Bartok himself heard in Romania, Hungary and the region of Transylvania.

The movements are as follows:

I. Bot tánc / Jocul cu bâtă (Stick Dance)
II. Brâul (Sash Dance)
III. Topogó / Pe loc (In One Spot)
IV. Bucsumí tánc / Buciumeana (Dance from Bucsum)
V. Román polka / Poarga Românească (Romanian Polka)
VI. Aprózó / Mărunțel (Fast Dance


cl cl cl bs cl

Other Editions

Romanian Dances is also available in the following editions:

Cat Ref:
Publishing pending
View in UK EU US